MIFF 2023

Fortune favors the brave

In the summer of 2022, the world was gradually emerging from the Covid episode, and the borders were just beginning to reopen, with however still a lot of caution around the world and particularly in Asia, as this pandemic had left its mark . We must not forget that at that time China was barricaded with double tower to the great misfortune of its inhabitants cloistered at home. However, the front of the border closures began to crack, thanks in particular to the Malaysian government which decided to open its own, to the delight of the organizers of the MIFF show who rushed into the breach with a boldness that could challenge. This bet has been largely successful as evidenced by the great success of the 2023 edition.

Yet you had to dare to embark on such an adventure. Indeed, we must not forget that the return of the MIFF show only took place less than a year ago, since it was in July 2022 that the salon reopened after two years of closure. For the organizers this situation could not last any longer and it was unthinkable to wait several more months, at the risk of losing the benefit of all these years which saw the meeting in Kuala Lumpur gaining momentum until 2019, to the point of becoming the benchmark for professional platforms for furniture in South East Asia. But a flattering reputation is something fragile, and needs to be constantly reinforced, and that requires years of work. Conversely, it is easy to quickly be forgotten. A show is a fragile product over which the organizers must watch carefully, which they did with great care and professionalism. Only as successful as one can be, who could have foreseen such a catastrophe, spanning such a length? Nobody on the planet has found a miracle recipe to stem this pandemic, except that of containment, which was the worst solution for all sectors of economic activity combined, with in particular at the head of the pack the trade shows that ticked all the squares leading them straight to pure and simple disappearance.

MIFF winning poker move

In this anxiety-provoking context, the organizers of the MIFF show however, did not sit idly by. They have remained permanently connected with the profession, via digital which has proven to be of decisive importance throughout this time. Thus was born Furniverse which became a virtual exhibition and thus enabled online trade. The designers of the site had relied heavily on interactivity, which allowed buyers and manufacturers to be able to exchange views at the heart of a very dynamic interface. Only, as well done, as useful as it has been, a digital platform has its limits and nothing replaces human contact, and it seemed unthinkable to leave another blank year Then finally comes the clearing of the reopening of borders, with however, a few rules of caution. All this did not escape to MIFF managers who boldly rushed into the breach, insofar as despite the freedom of movement and travel regained, there was still much reluctance among the populations, a fortiori for visitors from Western countries and for whom this distant journey could cause some hesitation. Despite all these potential obstacles, the MIFF taken place. Certainly it was not the edition of the century, but it was necessary to occupy the ground and break the infernal spiral of deadly cancellations, and in the end everything went well. The decision of the Malaysian authorities to consider the pandemic on the wane and that of the organizers of the MIFF to occupy the land, were the right ones and the challenge was successfully met since it laid the groundwork for a return to normal, on the traditional historic dates. If today such a decision seems a little less audacious, it is because this cursed era is gradually fading from collective memories, but yet nothing was really assured. We could imagine everything at the time, such as the resurgence of a devastating new variant that would have called everything into question. Reinstalling the salon a few months later was not completely certain. It was therefore a real gamble that the organizers played and it turned out to be a winner, proving once again that fortune always smiles on the daring.

MIFF Malysia 2023

Another dimension

This is how 8 months later manufacturers and manufacturers of the furniture profession were able to see the buyers again and exchange with them face to face, but there, it was on an appointment from another dimension that they met. The MIFF (acronym of Malaysia International Furniture fair) regained its rank during this edition, which was held from March 1 to 4. Indeed, we had the impression that nothing serious had happened for almost three long years. Strange feeling in any case to have the feeling of being propelled into the world before, and what a pleasure to see this newfound energy, this agitation specific to dynamic salons. Still, what we felt and experienced was not just a feeling, as the figures prove, with a presence of 673 exhibitors who came to present their new products and innovations to some 19,273 visiting buyers, 30% of whom were foreigners and 40% were traveling to Kuala Lumpur for the first time. Suffice to say that the two sites, namely the history MITEC (Malaysia International Trade & Exhibition center) and the very modern WTCKL (World Trade Centre Kuala Lumpur) were very well attended, to the delight of all, since all the satisfaction indices reached new heights, both on the part of visitors and exhibitors. Also worth noting is the remarkable presence at the show of representatives from 136 countries and regions. If it is none the less true that the MIFF is the reference event in the South East Asian region, the event displays a more than honorable score in the field of internationality, and when we look more closely at the statistics by country, we will note the presence the USA, India, Australia and Japan, which occupied the first places in terms of visitor numbers, which is not nothing compared to the economic weight of these nations. Old Europe is a bit below, but it's a safe bet that it will regain its rank, knowing it is reassured about the success of this edition of the great comeback.

A record turnover

But what remains above all the greatest success of this 2023 edition is in the volume of commercial exchanges of this edition, since the absolutely remarkable turnover of 1.21 billion dollars comes to beat that of the year 2019, thus setting a new record, with an increase of 19%! We therefore did not come to have fun on this edition of the revival, of the great return of the MIFF. All this proves the merits of having relaunched the machine in 2022, which made it possible to prepare the ground and restore confidence to everyone, whether they are visitors or buyers. We must also see the substantive work carried out by Informa Market, to offer an offer in line with the demand of foreign buyers. If most of the exhibiting companies were Asian, these are experienced in exporting, and not only the Chinese manufacturers who came back in force this year, since they occupied a single floor within the site. WTCKL, with the support of the organizers of Furniture China, which encouraged companies from the Middle Kingdom to exhibit at the show, and the blessing of those from MIFF, proof that we can have common interests in good intelligence. But we should not especially note the dynamism of the Malaysian companies also turned towards export, in particular because of their performance in the wood industry. However, this phenomenon is not new. The country has been able to exploit this natural resource with great intelligence, of which it has an exceptional variety of species. These natural resources, the national companies have been able to make them prosper with the support of the authorities who have accompanied the manufacturers in their development, in particular for export in the field of the furniture sector. It is thus that today it is permissible to say that Malaysia is one of the strongholds of this industry, as it proved at the show with its novelties and innovations completely in line with market trends. In any case, here is a place that has demonstrated to the world that it is not only a magnificent tourist destination and one of the paradises of gastronomy on the continent, but also a dynamic nation which has quietly invited itself to the table of those who count in many areas. Like everyone else in a difficult, dangerous world, she has to face her political and religious problems, but she is not doing too badly, and the visitor will be able to see that the cohabitation between all the populations is going rather well. . Admittedly, we often talk about the hand of the Chinese ogre, but the reality is less caricatural. Many economic cooperation agreements between the two states have been signed or are in preparation, in the name of common interests. All this deserves to be underlined. In an unstable geopolitical environment, Malaysia is not the most threatened place on the planet.

MIFF

Gallery

A clearly positioned offer

This undoubtedly allowed the MIFF this rapid return to its pre-crisis fundamentals and even a little more, when we see this famous record turnover recorded, it is also the consistency of the overall offer. Under the influence and weight of Malaysian manufacturers and industrialists, who counted themselves at the more than respectable figure of 321 exhibitors, the offer is clearly positioned in the mid-range but with a solid production. The products offered are not flashy. It's solid, serious, embellished with flawless manufacturing quality. In this period of serious crisis that the world is also going through economically, these assets are absolutely major arguments. The consumer, whoever he is, wherever he comes from, is very sensitive to sustainability phenomena. This term is even essential, since it is added to environmental concerns. There is no question of waste today. Beyond budget issues, it is also a question of reliability which is linked to respect for the planet. The famous “Green Economy” came to impose its specifications with the support of all the peoples of the world. It is a question of consuming serious, natural, respectful of the environment, with obviously the best possible value for money. It is therefore in keeping with these trends that local manufacturers are developing their ranges of new products and innovations. The other major advantage of the global offer of the show lies in a vast coverage of products intended for furnishing. This one rakes very wide, intended for the whole house. However, there were winners this year. Thus, the best sales results were recorded in the dining room furniture sectors, followed by bedding, which is increasingly dynamic as everyone discovers the virtues of quality sleep. Then come the living room, the office which is regaining its former glory with home working stimulated by the pandemic, the sofas and their upholstery and finally the kitchen.
So here is a fanfare return of the MIFF show whose results exceed all the most optimistic forecasts, thus making us forget these so painful years that the world has gone through. This proves that it remains an undeniable leader in its area of influence, that its appeal is still just as strong, and finally that the gamble of relaunching the machine cautiously last summer was also an essential element in ensuring the success of this year 2023 which finally sees the truth MIFF back for our greatest happiness, because beyond the business aspect, the quality of the reception and the professionalism of the organizers has never disappeared for the greatest happiness of the visitors and ours.

MIFF 2023

La fortune sourit aux audacieux

A l’été 2022, le monde sortait peu à peu de l’épisode Covid, et  les frontières commençaient à peine à se rouvrir, avec cependant encore beaucoup de prudence de par le monde et particulièrement en Asie, tant cette pandémie avait laissé des traces. Il ne faut pas oublier qu’à cette époque la Chine était barricadée à double tour pour le plus grand malheur de ses  habitants cloîtrés chez eux. Toutefois, le front des  fermetures de frontières commençait à se lézarder, grâce notamment au gouvernement Malaisien  qui décida d’ouvrir les siennes, pour le plus grand bonheur des organisateurs du salon MIFF qui s’est engouffré dans la brèche avec une audace qui pouvait interpeller. Ce pari  a été largement gagnant comme le prouve le très beau succès de l’édition 2023.

Il fallait pourtant oser pour se lancer dans une telle aventure. En effet, il ne faut pas oublier que le retour du salon MIFF n’a eu lieu qu’il y a moins d’un an, puisque c’est en juillet 2022 que la salon a rouvert ses portes après deux ans de fermeture. Pour les organisateurs cette situation ne pouvait plus durer et il était impensable d’attendre encore plusieurs mois, au risque de perdre le bénéfice de toutes ces années qui voyaient le rendez vous de Kuala Lumpur monter en puissance jusqu’en 2019, au point de devenir la référence des plateformes professionnelles destinées au meuble pour le Sud Est Asiatique. Mais un réputation flatteuse est quelque chose de fragile, et nécessite d’être en permanence confortée, et cela passe par des années de travail. A contrario, il est facile de vite se faire oublier. Un salon est un produit fragile sur lequel les organisateurs doivent veiller avec soin, ce que ceux ci faisaient avec beaucoup de soin et de professionnalisme. Seulement aussi performant que l’on puisse être, qui aurait pu prévoir une telle catastrophe, s’étalant sur une telle longueur ? Personne sur le planète n’a trouvé de recette miracle pour endiguer cette pandémie, si ce n’est celle du confinement qui fût la pire des solutions pour tous les secteurs d’activité économique confondus, avec notamment en tête de peloton les salons qui cochaient toutes les cases les menant droit à la disparition pure et simple.

Coup de poker gagnant du MIFF

Dans ce contexte anxiogène, les organisateurs du salon MIFF ne sont pourtant pas restés les bras croisés. Ils sont restés en permanence connectés avec la profession, via le digital qui s’est avéré d’une importance déterminante pendant tout ce temps. Ainsi naquit Furniverse qui devint un salon virtuel et permit ainsi des échanges commerciaux en ligne. Les concepteurs du site avaient largement misé sur l’interactivité, ce qui a permis aux acheteurs et aux fabricants de pouvoir échanger au cœur d’une interface très dynamique. Seulement, aussi bien fait, aussi utile a t’il été, une plateforme digitale a ses limites et rien ne remplace les contacts humains, et il paraissait impensable de laisser encore une année blanche Puis vient enfin l’éclaircie de réouverture des frontières, avec cependant quelques règles de prudence. Tout ceci n’a pas échappé aux managers du MIFF qui se sont engouffrés dans la brèche avec audace, dans la mesure où malgré la liberté de circuler et de voyager retrouvées, il existait dans les populations encore bien des réticences, à fortiori pour des visiteurs venus des pays occidentaux et pour lesquels ce voyage lointain pouvait provoquer quelques hésitation. Malgré tous ces obstacles potentiels, le MIFF eût lieu. Certes ce n’était pas l’édition du siècle, mais il fallait occuper le terrain et casser la spirale infernale des annulations mortifères, et finalement tout s’est bien déroulé. La décision des autorités malaisiennes de considérer la pandémie sur le déclin et celle des organisateurs du MIFF d’occuper le terrain, ont été les bonnes et le défi a été relevé avec succès puisqu’il a posé les jalons d’un retour à la normale, aux dates historiques traditionnelles. Si aujourd’hui une telle décision paraît un peu moins audacieuse, c’est parce que cette époque maudite s’efface peu à peu des mémoires collectives, mais pourtant, rien n’était vraiment assuré. On pouvait tout imaginer à l’époque, comme par exemple la résurgence d’un nouveau variant dévastateur qui aurait tout remis en question. Réinstaller le salon quelques mois après n’était pas chose totalement assurée. C’est donc un vrai coup de poker que les organisateurs ont joué et celui ci s’est avéré gagnant prouvant une fois de plus que la fortune sourit toujours aux audacieux.

MIFF Malysia 2023

Une autre dimension

C’est ainsi que 8 mois plus tard fabricants et industriels de la profession du meuble ont pu revoir les acheteurs et échanger avec eux de visu, mais là, c’est sur un rendez vous d’une autre dimension qu’ils se sont rencontrés. Le MIFF (acronyme de Malaysia International Furniture fair) a retrouvé son rang lors de cette édition qui s’est donc tenue du 1er au 4 mars. En effet, nous avons eu l’impression que rien ne s’était passé de sérieux pendant presque trois longues années. Sensation étrange en tout cas que d’avoir le sentiment de se retrouver propulsés dans le monde d’avant, et quel plaisir de revoir cette énergie retrouvée, cette agitation propre aux salons dynamiques. Toujours est t’il que ce que nous avons ressenti et vécu, n’était pas qu’un ressenti, comme le prouvent les chiffres avec une présence de 673 exposants venus présenter leurs nouveautés et innovations à quelque 19 273 visiteurs acheteurs, dont 30 % étaient étrangers et 40 % faisaient le déplacements à Kuala Lumpur pour la première fois. Autant dire que les deux sites, à savoir l’historique MITEC (Malaysia International Trade& Exhibition centre) et le très moderne WTCKL (World Trade Centre Kuala Lumpur) ont été fort bien occupés, pour la plus grand bonheur de tous, puisque tous les indices de satisfaction ont atteint des sommets, tant de la part des visiteurs que des exposants. A noter également le chiffre remarquable de la présence sur le salon de représentants de 136 pays et régions. S’il n’en reste pas moins vrai que le MIFF est le rendez vous de référence dans la région du Sud Est Asiatique, l ‘événement affiche un score plus qu’honorable dans le domaine de l’internationalité, et lorsque l’on regarde de plus près les statistiques par pays, on notera la présence des USA, de l’Inde, de l’Australie et du Japon qui ont occupé les premières places en termes de visitorat, ce qui n’est pas rien en regard du poids économique que pèsent ces nations. La vieille Europe est un peu un ton au dessous, mais il y a fort à parier qu’elle retrouvera son rang, la sachant rassurée quant au succès de cette édition du grand retour.

Un chiffre d’affaires record

Mais ce qui reste surtout le plus grand succès de cette édition 2023 se trouve dans le volume d’échanges commerciaux de cette édition, puisque le chiffre d’affaires absolument remarquable de 1,21 milliard de dollars vient battre celui de l’année 2019, établissant ainsi un nouveau record, avec une progression de 19% ! On n’est donc pas venu pour s’amuser sur cette édition du renouveau, du grand retour du MIFF. Tout ceci prouve le bien fondé d’avoir relancé la machine en 2022, ce qui a permis de préparer le terrain et redonner confiance à tous, qu’ils soient visiteurs ou acheteurs. Il faut y voir aussi le travail de fond effectué par Informa Market, pour proposer une offre en adéquation avec la demande des acheteurs étrangers. Si l’essentiel des entreprises exposantes étaient Asiatiques, celles ci sont rompues à l’export, et pas seulement les fabricants Chinois revenus en force cette année, puisque ceux ci occupaient un étage à aux seuls au sein du site WTCKL, avec le soutien des organisateurs de Furniture China, lesquels ont encouragé les entreprises de l’Empire du Milieu à exposer sur le salon, et la bénédiction de ceux du MIFF, preuve que l’on peut avoir des intérêts communs en bonne intelligence. Mais il ne faut pas surtout noter le dynamisme des sociétés Malaisiennes tournées aussi vers l’export, en raison notamment de leurs performances dans l’industrie du bois. Ce n’est cependant pas d’hier que le phénomène existe. Le pays a su exploiter avec beaucoup d’intelligence cette ressources naturelle dont elle possède une exceptionnelle variété d’essences. Ces richesses naturelles, les d’entreprises nationales ont su les faire prospérer avec le soutien des autorités qui ont accompagné les fabricants dans leur développement, notamment a destination de l’export dans le domaine du secteur du meuble. C’est ainsi qu’aujourd’hui il est permis de dire que la Malaisie est une des places fortes de cette industrie comme elle l’a prouvé sur le salon avec ses nouveautés et innovations tout à fait dans le courant des tendances des marchés. En tout cas, voilà un endroit qui a su démontrer au monde qu’il n’est pas qu’une magnifique destination touristique et un des paradis de la gastronomie sur le continent, mais aussi une nation dynamique qui sans bruit s’est invitée à la table de celles qui comptent dans beaucoup de domaines. Comme tout un chacun dans un monde difficile, dangereux, elle doit faire face à ses problèmes politiques et religieux, mais elle ne s’en sort plutôt pas trop mal, et le visiteur pourra constater que la cohabitation entre toutes les populations se passent plutôt bien. Certes, on parle souvent de la main mise de l’ogre Chinois, mais la réalité est moins caricaturale. De nombreux accords de coopération économiques entre les deux états sont signés ou en gestation, au nom des intérêts communs. Tout ceci méritait d’être souligné. Dans un environnement géopolitique instable, la Malaisie n’est pas l’endroit le plus menacé de la planète.

MIFF

Galerie

Une offre clairement positionnée

Ce qui a sans doute permis au MIFF ce retour rapide à ses fondamentaux d’avant la crise et même un peu plus, lorsque l’on constate ce fameux chiffre d’affaires record enregistré, c’est aussi la cohérence de l’offre globale. Sous l’influence et le poids des fabricants et industriels Malaisiens, qui se sont comptés au chiffre plus que respectable de 321 exposants, l’offre est clairement positionnée en milieu de gamme mais avec une production de solidité. Les produits proposés ne font pas dans l’ostentation tapageuse. C’est du solide, du sérieux, agrémenté d’une qualité fabrication sans reproches. Dans cette période de crise grave que le monde traverse aussi sur le plan économique, ces atouts sont des arguments absolument majeurs. Le consommateur quel qu’il soit, d’où qu’il vienne, est très sensible aux phénomènes de durabilité. Ce terme est même essentiel, puisqu’il se rajoute aux préoccupations environnementales. Il n’est plus question de gâchis aujourd’hui. Au delà des questions de budget, il est aussi question de fiabilité laquelle est liée de respect de la planète. La fameuse “Green Economie” est venue imposer ses cahiers des charges avec les soutiens de tous les peuples du monde. Il s’agit de consommer sérieux, naturel, respectueux de l’environnement, avec évidemment le meilleur rapport qualité prix possible. C’est donc dans le respect de ces tendances que les industriels locaux font évoluer leurs gammes de nouveautés et innovations. L’autre atout majeur de l’offre globale du salon réside dans une vaste couverture des produits destinés à l’ameublement. Celle ci ratisse très large, a destination de toute la maison. Néanmoins il y a eu des vainqueurs cette année. Ainsi, les meilleurs résultats de vente ont t’ils été enregistrés dans les secteurs du meuble pour la salle à manger, suivie de la literie toujours plus dynamique au fur et à mesure que tout un chacun découvre les vertus d’un sommeil de qualité. Viennent ensuite, le salon, le bureau qui retrouve ses lettre se noblesse avec le travail à domicile stimulé par la pandémie, les canapés et leur garnitures et enfin la cuisine.
Voilà donc un retour en fanfare du salon MIFF dont les résultats dépassent toutes les prévisions les plus optimistes, faisant ainsi oublier ces années si douloureuses que le monde a traversé. Ceci prouve que celui ci reste un leader incontestable dans sa zone d’influence, que son attrait est toujours aussi fort, et enfin que le pari de relancer la machine prudemment l’été dernier a aussi constitué un élément essentiel pour assurer le succès de cette année 2023 qui voit enfin le vrai MIFF de retour pour notre plus grand bonheur, car au delà de l’aspect business, la qualité de l’accueil et la professionnalisme des organisateurs n’ a jamais disparu pour le plus grand bonheur des visiteurs et le nôtre.